2008 Privacy Policy Terms of Use









Please check out our blog for further information and news about the press, poets and publications.





November 2011:

New Debut New Poets Series announced



We are pleased to announce the arrival of a brand new poetry series, Debut, which aims to publish the best up-and-coming poetry collections from some of the most talented new voices.


These will all be full length poetry collections. The first collection in the series is Il Avilit by Phil Brown, which we be launched on 1st December 2011 at the Slaughtered Lamb in London. More collections from Alistair Noon, Maria Taylor, Andrew Frolis and Daniel Sluman will follow throughout 2010.


Find out more about the Debut New Poets Series here >


Find out more about Phil Brown's Il Avilit here >








September 2011:

Milorad Krystanovich - 1950-2011


We are very sad to report the passing of Milorad Krystanovich.


Milorad was a poet, friend and supporter of Nine Arches Press since our earliest days. He had battled terminal illness over the last two years with intense bravery and incredible determination. Despite his illness and treatment, he launched a collection, Improvising Memory, with Nine Arches Press in May 2010 and organised a very special launch party that we'll all recall with fondness for years to come.


Milorad was also a pillar of Birmingham's poetry community and had a huge circle of friends and colleagues. An enormously talented poet, he was also one the kindest, most thoughtful people you could ever wish to meet.


We had been working on a forthcoming collection with Milorad called Moses' Footprints and we hope to launch this around the end of this year.


I have written a longer tribute to Milorad Krystanovich on our blog here >


There is also a memorial blog for Milorad Krystanovich here >




June 2011:

East Midlands Book Award Shorlist


Congratulations to Mark Goodwin, whose Nine Arches collection, Shod, has been nominated for the East Midlands Book Award.


Wonderful news - best of luck to Mark and all others on the shortlist of this excellent prize.


More details about the prize and the shortlist can be found here.


More information about Shod can be found here.



February 2011:

First HOTWIRE Short Story Pamphlet announced


We are pleased to announce that the first HOTWIRE short story pamphlet will be Joel Lane's Do Not Pass Go.


A selection of five searing and gritty tales of Birmingham Crime Noir, this distinctive and dark pamphlet is guaranteed to be a compelling read.


More details of further HOTWIRE pamphlets to follow soon.




January 2011:

Under the Radar Outgrows its Staples...




Under the Radar will be becoming a bigger, better and perfect-bound 72-page magazine from Issue Seven onwards!


Because of the increasing high-standard of work submitted to us, and because we've been aiming for some time now to be able to include more short stories, reviews and articles in each issue, we are taking Under the Radar up to the next level.


The magazine has quite literally been bursting at the staples for a while now, so it will be great to set the it free and allow it more space. We also hope this means more room for reviews, articles and short stories in future issues.


There will be a slight increase in cover and subscription price (see magazine page here), but we are sure you'll agree that the new and improved bumper edition of Under the Radar will be worth this modest increase.


In the meantime, Under the Radar is OUT NOW and available to purchase here.


More details about Under the Radar here.




May 2010:

Congratulations to Tom Chivers and David Hart on Michael Marks Poetry Award shortlist.


Both David Hart's The Titanic Cafe closes its doors and hits the rocks and Tom Chivers' The Terrors were on the shortlist for this year's Michael Marks Poetry Award.


It was a real privildege to have two Nine Arches pamphlets up for this award, especially considering how many entries were received this year.


Congratulations to Selima Hill and Flarestack Poets who won the prize this year, and to Helena Nelson at Happenstance who won the Publisher Award.


You can find out much more about the Michael Marks awards here.









More News...


Find and follow us here: